InstaJan

I secretly love doing these Instagram posts because 1) it’s fun to look back on the month and 2) I start seeing little themes in our month that I might have otherwise missed.

Of course, Instagram doesn’t catch everything. For example, you won’t see any pics of me watching The Bachelor, although Lord knows I’ve spent way too many hours doing that this month. #ParadeOfCrazy

So here’s what we were up to this month. At least according to Instagram.

Jan_Insta_1I tried to be really intentional with kicking off 2015 on the right note. I spent some time planning and praying over the year and what I hope it will look like. I’ve been reading through the New Testament and here on January 3rd was the best gift for the new year of all: “Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Good news, amen?

Jan_Insta_4Awkward transition from the Gospel to selfies… London and I took more than our fair share of pics in the bathroom this month. That isΒ not actually on my list of goals for 2015…

Jan_Insta_2

I was able to spend some very sweet, intentional time with some of my most favorite women. The mamas from our homegroup got together to share our testimonies and then our steering team from MOPS got together to plan, pray, and run away from an incoming storm. You’d think you’d be safe to plan a beach morning in the middle of a drought… (it was still my favorite. Seeing how people react to rain is a great way to figure out who is from California and who is not. #SeattleSunshine)

Jan_Insta_3

We’ve spent a lot of time outside in our neighborhood. I introduced myself to a dad at the playground the other day. “Oh yeah, I know who you are. You guys are here everyday.” True story.

Jan_Insta_5

This January Cruz turned 12. There’s really just no other explanation. (The picture in the middle says “The lost boy cried, “Waa waaa.” And then there’s a picture of him “brushing away his tears.” Lovely. The third picture is of an activity page Cruz made for me. I was to circle all of the hidden hearts. It also read,Β “Mommy and Cruz. I’m so Happy tat you came becuz I [heart] you.” #IHeartYouToo

Jan_Insta_6

I’m the luckiest. The mamas of those boys are the luckiest too. As they were taking their picture, they said, “This is going to be a family picture!” #IMightHaveCried #BrothersFromAnotherMother #OneOfThemEndedUpInADuckPond #TheseMomentsAreFleeting

Jan_Insta_7

Our January sunsets have been awesome! One evening as we were walking around our neighborhood (see above), we caught this beautiful sunset (on the left). And then I turned around and behind me where those clouds from the picture on the right. I couldn’t take a picture that would do it justice. It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen.

And now we’re into February. I can feel spring creeping up on us: the hills are green and the days are longer. Let’s go!

 

 

2 thoughts on “InstaJan

Leave a Reply

