Do You Want to Make a Mom Cry?

WYWN_Car_Frozen

I am not quite sure how it happened, but we’ve been listening to a lot of kids’ music in the car lately. Unsurprisingly, I have mixed feelings about this development. How many covers of “the green grass grows all around all around” does the world need? These are the kind of questions I ask myself, while my children are very happily bopping along in their carseats. (Answer: MANY, apparently)

We were driving to swim lessons yesterday morning, listening to our Raffi Pandora station when “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” came on. Instant delight from the back row! The peanut gallery is ecstatic!

I start thinking onย what this song is actually about…

Oh, this is the part when Anna gets her memories taken away…

And when she’s a little girl who just wants her friend back…

She loves her sister and all she gets is a closed door…

THIS IS THE PART WHEN THE PARENTS DIE.

And then they’re grown up and each carrying these heavy burdens, sitting on either side of the door——!

Cruz was singing along jauntily in the back seat. It’s so upbeat– do you want to build a snowman? Come on, let’s go and play! London’s joining in with the “tick-tocks,” and I am in the driver’s seat trying to sing with them, andย hide the tears that are pouring down my face.

Why, Frozen, why? How did such a sad, sad song get such a cheerful beat? How did this sneak into my Raffi playlist? When did I turn into such a mushy mom? Are you enjoying the visual of my happy, singing children in the back of our van, with me in the front quietly stifling my sobs AS WE SING ALONG TO A CHILDREN’S SONG?ย Is anyone else with me? (Hang in there, Joan)

Leave a Reply

