Summertime in British Columbia

We have just returned form a little family vacation in Whistler, British Columbia. It’s the afternoon, and I have coffee brewing in my mug as I sit down to write and start my second day. My suitcase was hastily unpacked last night, but the kids’ clothes are sitting in piles on the floor of Cruz’s room. I like to come home to a clean house, but there are already peanut butter smears on my counter and crushed puffs under the highchair. It doesn’t look like we were away, but my spirit feels energized and excited about the rest of the summer. It’s so good to travel and so good to be home.

IMG_4383

IMG_4415

IMG_4417

Whistler is known as one of the top ski resorts, but it is secretly also a simply amazing place to visit in the summer! We flew up to Vancouver, BC and then drove about two hours north into the mountains to meet up with my parents (except it was three hours because holy traffic, Vancouver!). Growing up in Seattle, we went to Whistler every summer, and I can’t tell you how special it feels to bring my own children up there. Not unexpectedly, we had two and a half days of rain, and then two and a half days of heat and sun. No matter the weather, Whistler is dramatically beautiful. Like, take your breath away beautiful. It’s full of hiking trails, bike paths, great restaurants, musicians, kids activities, excellent grandparents (well, in our case!), and evenings that still light until 10:30pm. On Instagram I kept tagging our pictures with #whistlerismagical because it is.

IMG_4427 IMG_4399 IMG_4411 IMG_4449

On our first day of sun, my dad, Tovi and I took a gondola up to the top of Whistler Mountain, then another gondola over to Blackcomb, and back. It was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done in my life. Every time we came around a bend or hiked ten feet further, the view was even better. Everywhere you looked, God’s glory was on display. And a cappuccino and cookie with my dad and husband on top of the world isn’t a bad way to spend the afternoon.

IMG_4490 IMG_4475 IMG_4468 IMG_4465 IMG_4502 IMG_4472 IMG_4522

Traveling with grandparents is awesome! I love love love that my kids are making these sweet memories with their Maka and Papa. Tovi and I even got to sneak away a few times for dinner or drinks, and that time together is precious! (After all, we all know that traveling with kids is not a vacation!) 

IMG_4447

IMG_4532 IMG_4543

Especially if you’re on the West Coast, I highly encourage you to travel to Whistler. It’s easy to get to, it offers a different view than our Southern California beach + dry hills, Canadian hospitality is unparalleled, and your kids will stay in their regular time zone!

IMG_4452 IMG_4435

IMG_4536

 

2 thoughts on “Summertime in British Columbia

Leave a Reply

